Comedy Show! Plus new recipe!


So, this past weekend, Toby and I went with a few friends to go see one of my FAVORITE comedians, Dara O’Briain. We were in a pretty neat venue called Vicar St…

Vicar Street

Here’s a little clip of his comedy (warning, in the second video there is a little bit of cursing)

The past few days it has been quite nice and warm, so the other night Jenny and I went to a girlfriend’s house and it was so nice we ate outside. These are a few of the instagram photos I snapped from her backyard…

It was so lovely! The only problem is, my allergies are a wreck now. This is a problem becauuuuuuse….

Tomorrow I’m doing a 6.5k race… ha ha. I’m doing the “Fun Run” to raise money for a local hospital, but also because it sounded fun at the time I signed up. It should be good fun though, I heard there’s supposed to be clowns running with the people, ha ha. I’m sure I’ll have some good photos to post from that.

And the LAST of my fun awesome news… I GOT PUBLISHED IN THE NEWSPAPER!!! I’ve been writing articles for ReachOut, and they asked me to write an article on their behalf for the Sunday Business Times here in Ireland. It was published on Sunday. If you’d like to read it, you can check it out here. It’s about the importance of a balanced diet. I didn’t realize it had been published until today so I was unable to buy the actual paper. So, I emailed the paper asking for a PDF copy of the article.

Anyway, a few nights ago, I tried a new kind of recipe, and it turned out pretty well! So, I thought I’d share with you here! Sorry I didn’t take a nice photo of the final product, I was hungry and ate it, ha ha.

Carne Guisada (Latin Beef Stew)

Originally from SkinnyTaste

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup scallions, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 small tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tbsp cilantro, minced
  • 1.5 lb choice round beef stew, cut into small chunks
  • 1/3 cup light beer
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp adobo (or salt) –I didn’t have access to abodo, so I used salt… would taste better with this
  • 1/2 tsp achiote (or sazon) – I didn’t have access to this, would taste better with this
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt to taste
  • 10 oz baby red potatoes, halved or quartered

Directions

In a large dutch oven or heavy pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add scallions and garlic and sauté about 2 – 3 minutes; add tomatoes, cilantro and a pinch of salt. Cook another 2 minutes, stirring.

Add beef to the pot along with beer, water, cumin, adobo, achiote, bay leaf and salt if needed.

Cover and simmer on low heat 1 1/2 hours. Test to make sure beef is tender, if not cook another 15 minutes. Add potatoes and cook until soft, about 20 minutes depending on the size.

Makes about 5 cups. Perfect served over 3/4 cup cooked rice.

Servings: 5 • Sizeabout 1 cup • Calories192.9 • Fat5.3 g • Carbs: 11.5 Fiber: 1.6 • Protein23.2 g • Sugar1.1

One thought on “Comedy Show! Plus new recipe!

Leave a Reply

