R.I.P Winston (June 2008 – April 2012)


So, if you’re friends with me on Facebook, I’m sure you heard one of our dogs, Winston, died yesterday. He had been sick for the past week and a half or so. He had gone to the vet, and the vet said he thought it might be Addison’s Disease, but gave him some fluids and stuff in the mean time to see if it helped, because he had gotten sick like this in the past. He started to act better… was drinking water again and eating, and actually had a vet appointment yesterday because although he was acting better, he still wasn’t 100%. That morning he even followed Toby’s mom out to the drive way to get the paper, and was acting more like his normal self. Unfortunately, he was sicker than we thought, and didn’t make it to the vet appointment. He died in his sleep yesterday morning laying in the sun on Toby’s parent’s bed.

He was my very first dog, and Toby and I’s first dog together.

Instantly I fell in love with this little guy. We even drove the 3 hours to go visit him before we were able to pick him up and take him home. When we went to go see him, he was only 4 weeks old. Toby held him for awhile, and looked so comfortable in his hands. I went to hold, him, and I guess my hands were big enough to keep him feeling safe. He cried the ENTIRE time. I remember being so worried he wasn’t going to like me. But after we got him home, that definitely wasn’t the case. The office I was working in at the time, everyone there had dogs. They knew this was my first dog, so they threw me a surprise puppy shower. It was so amazing. They got me frizbees, balls, blankets, toys, you name it.

We brought him home to our cat DJ Frisky Pants. Well, it took them awhile to get used to each other. But after while, they grew a mutual tolerance for each other.

  

I wanted to be a good “dog mom”. So, we took him to obedience class, where unfortunately he tried to hump all the other dogs. And even though he learned the commands, he was a stubborn little butt and would only follow the commands if either food was involved, or he felt like doing it. Shortly after we got him, he became BEST buds with our neighbor’s dogs too.  I like to believe they were boyfriend and girlfriend… ha ha. Winston and Zoe, oh they were quite a pair. Even if we didn’t go next door to play, winston would pull so hard towards their house whenever we went on walks. And they would sit and stare at each other through the fence when they were in the back yard.

We also used to take him with us to the KU Football games. He was our game day dog!! Our good friends Reed and Jeremy always used to call him Hector for some reason. It took them a year to realize they had completely forgotten what his name was. I always dressed him up in his little doggy KU sweatshirt. And I remember when Jeremy thought I wasn’t looking, he tried to feed him beer and chips. Even though I told him not to, ha ha. But he was their hector, and ou game day dog.

He was really such a great dog. After I had been working for awhile, I worried about Winston being home alone during the day. So, we wanted to get him a playmate, which was when we got Keeley a year later. They became so close (eventually). When they would play and wrestle, she would bite the side of his cheek, and pull on it on until he started bleeding. He didn’t care, he just let her do it. He was so gentle and nice to her, maybe a little too gentle… she needed a little kick in the butt for that one. As she got older, she would constantly lay on top of him. I remember being so frustrated because winston reverted back to being puppy hyper again when we got her. But I still loved him, he was my first baby.

We also some AMAZING neighbors, Pam and Trent. Trent is an amazing artist, and painted a beautiful painting of me holding Winston. Winston LOVED him. Anytime he heard him whistling outside, or saw him, he darted straight over to him. And of course, Trent always had dog bones with him, which of course Winston loved. He was Trent’s “tupperdog”. 🙂

This past fall, we drove both the dogs over to Colorado to stay with Toby’s parents while we moved here to Ireland. So far Keeley was the only dog we had brought over yet, because Boston Terrier’s have flight restrictions due to their stub noses. The day before we left, we took the dogs on a long nice walk through a local park. It was the last time we walked Winston.

 

It was so hard for me to leave them in Colorado, I remember I cried all night our last night there, and I cried the whole way to the airport because I knew it was going to be a while until we saw them again. That was the last night I spent with Winston. Although I was sad leaving him there, it was such a perfect night we spent together. I got to cuddle with him the entire night. I didn’t care if he hogged the bed (which, he was a horrible bed hogger, ha ha). I knew he was going to be with people who cared about him as much as I did. Since I couldn’t have been there with him, I truly couldn’t have asked for a better place for him to be. I know how much Toby’s parents cared about him, and cared for him. I’m just so glad he was happy.

Last night when I got the news, luckily I had seen all my clients for the day, but it was pretty hard. Toby and I laid in bed with Keeley and went through some of the old photos we had of him, and were remembering him. I’m still pretty sad today, as I’m sure I’ll be for awhile. And I know over time it’ll get easier. I just wanted to dedicate this post to Winston how great of a dog he was. Even though I only had him for 4 years, he was the best dog I could have asked for, and I hope whatever dogs we have in the future can only hope to live up to be as a good of a dog as he was. I put a little slideshow together of all the photos of him I had. Feel free to write any memories, or share any photos you might have of him below.

Winston, we love you very much, and no matter what we’ll never stop loving you. We will never forget you. Every time I say “buddy”, I’m going to think of you. I know Toby is going to miss blowing in your face and making you “talk”.  Maybe one day we’ll all get to do that together again.

We love you,

-Mom and Dad

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PS – over the next day or so, I’m going to add some videos off my phone I have of winston, so keep an eye out for that!

7 thoughts on “R.I.P Winston (June 2008 – April 2012)

  1. Tiffany says:

    Omg I’m sitting in the parking lot at work bawling. I miss my nephew so much. I remember when if irst saw the pictures of him on the stump with American flags on your facebook back in 2008. Hbe was such a cute little booger. And the first time I saw him was Christmas 2008 and I loved him at first sight. I had to wrap him in a blanket to get him to hold still for a cuddle. Though I was ttally unsuccessful. I loved babysitting him and Keeley during your Honeymoon, he’s just so damn smart. And I was really looking forward to my parents bringing him to be this summer for me to have a playmate for Olivia. I can’t believe he’s gone. It was just too fast. I know some people think it’s silly. But our Bostons are our babies, and I did think of him as my nephew- a part of the family. I want you to know how much I love him and Keeley too. My thoughts are with you.

  2. Aunt Cathy says:

    I’m so sorry, Nikki and Toby. I know you loved Winston and are so sad that he is gone. These things just happen sometimes, and we’re never prepared for a loss like this. Time will heal the hurt. I love the pictures. Thanks for sharing them.

    Love you,
    Aunt Cathy

  3. Marlise Irby says:

    Soo sad, just like Tiffany, I am sitting at my desk at work crying. Thanks for sharing the memories.

    Letter From Your Pet in Heaven
    To my dearest family,
    some things I’d like to say.
    But first of all, to let you know,
    that I arrived okay.

    I’m writing this from the Bridge.
    Here I dwell with God above.
    Here there’s no more tears of sadness.
    Here is just eternal love.

    Please do not be unhappy
    just because I’m out of sight.
    Remember that I am with you
    every morning, noon and night.

    That day I had to leave you
    when my life on earth was through,
    God picked me up and hugged me,
    and He said, “I welcome you.

    It’s good to have you back again;
    you were missed while you were gone.
    As for your dearest family,
    They’ll be here later on.”

    God gave me a list of things,
    that he wished for me to do.
    And foremost on the list,
    was to watch and care for you.

    And when you lie in bed at night,
    the day’s chores put to flight,
    God and I are closest to you . . .
    in the middle of the night.

    When you think of my life on earth,
    and all those loving years,
    because you are only human,
    they are bound to bring you tears.

    But do not be afraid to cry:
    it does relieve the pain.
    Remember there would be no flowers,
    unless there was some rain.

    I wish that I could tell you
    all that God has planned.
    If I were to tell you,
    you wouldn’t understand.

    But one thing is for certain,
    though my life on earth is o’er.
    I’m closer to you now,
    than I ever was before.

    There are rocky roads ahead of you
    and many hills to climb;
    But together we can do it
    by taking one day at a time.

    It was always my philosophy
    and I’d like it for you too;
    That as you give unto the world,
    the world will give to you.

    If you can help somebody
    who’s in sorrow and pain;
    Then you can say to God at night . . .
    “My day was not in vain.”

    And now I am contented . . .
    that my life was worthwhile.
    Knowing as I passed along
    I made somebody smile.

    God says: “If you meet somebody
    who is sad and feeling low;
    Just lend a hand to pick him up,
    as on your way you go.

    When you’re walking down the street
    with me on your mind;
    I’m walking in your footsteps
    only half a step behind.”

    “And when it’s time for you to go . . .
    from that body to be free.
    Remember you’re not going . . .
    you’re coming here to me.”

    [Author Unknown]

  4. amyepapa says:

    Wow, Nikki, what a beautiful post. I am still crying. Winston was very lucky to have doggie-parents like you and Toby, and where ever he is now he knows it. ❤

Leave a Reply

