Tornado Season is Here! (in kansas that is…)


So, I was keeping up on the news and saw that there was some very severe weather in Kansas last night/this morning.  As of about an hour ago, there were 110 tornado reports so far from this storm that went through. I hope everyone back home is okay!

The other reason I’m posting again so soon, is that I was really craving oatmeal this morning, and decided to make some baked strawberry banana oatmeal. I know I just posted recently, but I HAD to share this meal, it was just so good! It’s kind of a hodgepodge recipe I made by combining 3 other recipes I had found…

Strawberry & Banana Baked Oatmeal

Adapted from SkinnyTaste’s Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries and Bananas (also a good recipe)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of uncooked oats
  • 3 ripe bananas (cut into 1/2″ slices)
  • 1 cup of sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 cup of Honey
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts or pecans
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 3/4 a tsp of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of fat free milk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375° F (190° C). Use any ceramic dish that measures approximately 8″x8″ or 9×9″. The only ceramic dish I had was my cast iron casserole dish, so that is what I ended up using for this. Coat the dish with cooking spray if you have it, or with oil.

At the base of the dish, make a layer of bananas, and half the strawberries. Sprinkle the top with about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and drizzle with honey. Cover it with foil and bake for 15 minutes.

While that cooks, in a medium dish, mix together the 1 cup of uncooked oats, 1/8 cup of the walnuts/pecans (which ever you chose, I chose walnuts), 1/2 tsp of baking powder, the remaining 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and a pinch of salt. In a separate medium bowl, whisk together the remaining honey (about 1/4 cup), 1 cup of milk , half of the chocolate chips, and 1 tsp of vanilla extract.

Once the bananas and strawberries are done, pour the oat mixture on top, followed by the liquid mixture. Make sure you evenly distribute the liquid mixture over the oats. Sprinkle the remaining chocolate chips, walnuts, and strawberries over the top. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until golden brown. Then take it out, and enjoy! 🙂

Now, I didn’t have chocolate chips, so I just got a chocolate bar and chopped up pieces. Either way, it was very tasty!! Some recipes also added an egg, and some brown sugar. Either way you want to mix it up, it’s sooo easy to make! This will be great for me to make when we have people come visit!

I’m off to the pharmacy now to try to find the strongest decongestant I can get over the counter. Happy Sunday everyone! 🙂

One thought on “Tornado Season is Here! (in kansas that is…)

Leave a Reply

