Chicken Noodle Soup makes everything better!


So… I for the first time experienced “racism” for being American while in Europe… I had to go stop by the petstore yesterday to pick some stuff up. Since the pet store lets me bring keeley with me, I took her along so she could also get in a good walk. Well, I was walking back home, and stopped at an intersection waiting for the traffic to stop so I could cross the street. A man who appeared to be from some middle eastern country started talking to me, this was our dialogue…

  • Man:  “Oh, what a nice looking dog you have.”
  • Me:  “Thank you.”
  • Man:  “Is your dog Irish?”
  • Me:  “No, she’s not Irish.”
  • Man: “Oh, she isn’t? How old is she?”
  • Me: “She’s 3 years old.”
  • Man: (looking confused) “Oh, are you sure your dog isn’t Irish?”
  • Me: (wondering, can you NOT hear my accent?) “No, she’s American.”
  • Man: “Oh, I don’t think I like your dog then, ha ha.” (laughing, as if he thought he was being clever) “So how did your dog get here then from America?”
  • Me: “I had her shipped over to Ireland after I moved here from America.”
  • Man: “Oh… :::long awkward pause::: I don’t like you then.”

After this point, the man LITERALLY turned and walked the other way as if crossing the street next to an American was worse than him walking around the block to cross the street without me. Oh well, I wasn’t too bothered. I thought it was actually kind of funny.

On another funny note, I was sitting in the office today writing case notes, and they had the radio playing in the background. I made a comment to the office administrator, “you know what’s weird? Is that all the radio announcements are always done in an American accent, despite the fact all the DJ’s and radio shows are Irish.” He told me that for some reason, Irish people think it’s really “posh” or “cool” to have an American accent, which I thought was interesting. I don’t know if that’s necessarily true or not… but either way thought it was funny that all their announcements are done with an American accent.

Anyway, back to speaking of dogs…. unfortunately our other dog Winston hasn’t been doing too well lately… 😦 Toby’s parents took him to the Vet, and the Vet thinks he has Addison’s Disease.

Poor Sick Puppy

They gave him some fluids and stuff yesterday at the vet, but today he’s still not really eating or drinking anything. If he’s not doing better by tomorrow, the vet said to have him come in to do a definitive Addison’s test (which by the way, is expensive 😦 ) So I’m really hoping he starts doing better by tomorrow. It was so hard to hear about him being sick and me not being there to be with him. So luckily for Keeley, she got extra attention, because well… I had to give extra attention to SOMEONE, and Toby was at work, ha ha.

So anyway, tonight I was craving soup. And not just any soup, but Chicken Noodle Soup. Unfortunately, chicken noodle soup does not exist in Ireland. So, I was on a mission to make some. Check it out below!

Recipe found at Lovin’ From The Oven

Ingredients

  • 5 cups of chicken broth
  • One can cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup onions, chopped fine
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped fine
  • 1/2 cup carrots, chopped fine
  • 1/2 cup green onions, sliced
  • One 15 oz can of whole kernel corn, drained (I left this out, because I don’t like corn in my Chicken Noodle Soup)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cup Egg noodles
  • 2 cups cooked chicken chopped

Now, this recipe called for a crock pot. However, I do not have one, so I found a website that “translates” crock pot cooking times into using a dutch-oven cooking times, so the following instructions are based on cooking it in the oven. For crockpot instructions, click the link above.

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 175 Celsius (about 350 Fahrenheit). Mix together all the ingredients except the noodles and chicken.

I had some extra carrots left over from chopping, so I gave them to Keeley… I attempted to take some action shots of this, but she ended up looking half retarded…

Anyway, after you get all those bad boys mixed together, pop it in the oven for an hour. While that’s in the oven, dice up some chicken breast, and cook it on the stove top (or any other way you prefer to cook it).

After the hour mark, throw in the chicken and noodles (I had run out of noodles, so I used a little package of spiral pasta I had left over). Cook it for another 20 minutes.

Afterwards, take it out and eat! I high recommended getting baguette bread to eat with it so you can pretend you are at Panera… at least that’s what I did 🙂

Now, I’m going to have some tea and go off to bed!

However, on one last note… I saw this photo of the Irish President, Michael D. Higgins… You do have to admit, he looks a bit leprechauny… ha ha

One thought on “Chicken Noodle Soup makes everything better!

Leave a Reply

