Off to Glendalough


So, last weekend was my Birthday, and I had sooo much fun!! Toby was nice and got up and took care of Keeley (letting her out and stuff) so that I could sleep in. Then, I went and met my friend Jenny for lunch at a Mexican Restaurant called Acapulco. Their food is really good!! And it was so bright and colorful on the inside!

Jenny with her meal

Me with my meal

Afterwards, I came home, and decided to make some Doughnut Muffins!

Ingredients:

For the muffins:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk

For the coating:

  • 1/4 -1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

First, you preheat the oven to 350 Fahrenheit (175 degrees Celsius). Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Combine oil, sugar, egg and milk in a large bowl. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.

Spoon the mixture into greased muffin tin, or into baking cups… (by the way, muffin tins here are SOOO weird!)

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

See you soon muffins!!!

While muffins are baking, melt butter in a small bowl. In another small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon.

Shake muffins out of the muffin tin while the muffins are still hot.

Dip muffins in the melted butter and then into the sugar and cinnamon mixture.

Let them cool.

OMG, these were seriously SOOOOO good. You have to try making them, and it’s sooo easy!

Anyway, after baking and getting around, my friend Jenny came over before we went out for dinner.

Her and Keeley are now best buds! Jenny also gave me this AWESOME new apron, so I instantly decided to model my new muffins in it!

I also got an awesome birthday cupcake!!!

Yes – that is chocolate filling in my red velvet cupcake of awesomeness!!

Then, we went out for some dinner and dancing… it was a blast!! 🙂

The next night, KU played Mizzou… WHOOP WHOOP Rock chalk!!! That was one of the most stressful games I’ve EVER watched!

Keeley decided to watch the KU game irish style… ha ha

Then sunday, we took Keeley to the park and ran her with the ball… I have another fun video of it!!

Lastly….

We decided we are taking a weekend trip this weekend to Glendalough (I learned today it was pronounced “Glendalock”). I’m soo excited!! We’re staying in this pretty cabin near the Glendalough Park (it’s a big outdoorsy area that’s supposed to be gorgeous)

It’s just a basic cabin, but I think it’s going to be really neat, it has it’s own kitchen with a farm with free range eggs next door so we can make our breakfast. They also allow dogs, so keeley can come with us on our walks. Here’s also some photos of the area…

Monastic Site

one of the lakes

Anyway  – hope you enjoyed my mass amount of photos today!! Hope everyone has a terrific Tuesday!!!

Leave a Reply

