I rode a bike!


That’s right, I was brave enough (with the help of Toby), to ride my bike out on the street today. We were craving some mexican burritos, so we rode down to Tolteca (the chipotle knock-off). So… I rode my Dublin bike down there

Later today, I also met with another girl from Cork I had met through the “ladies who lunch” and grabbed some coffee. I even got a dublin bike and rode home on my own!! I came home to find this…

Someone had a food coma from their burrito.

Also, yesterday, we took Keeley to St. Stephen’s Green to throw around her new ball… 🙂

Keeley playing fetch (link to video)

Then, when I got home, I felt like cooking more food! So, I made cookies for Toby’s office tomorrow…

They were Soft Brown Sugar Cookies

Ingredients…

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 c. sour cream (I didn’t have any sour cream, so I used a cup of yogurt and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda

Directions…

Blend together butter and brown sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time; blend well.  Add vanilla; beat until light.  In a separate bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with sour cream; mix well

Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto non-stick or lightly greased baking sheets.

Bake at 350 degrees for 8 minutes.  Remove to a wire rack; cool.  Frost with Browned Butter Frosting.  Makes 2 dozen

i frosted a few of them with the frosting recipe listed on that same link, but I didn’t like how it turned out, so I only frosted a few.

Also, I went and got my prescriptions finally switched over, and went and filled my prescriptions this weekend. The whole process works pretty much the same. The only difference is that they give your meds in a different package. Normally, your meds come like this…

But when you get it here, they give you the medication like you bought it from over the counter

Anyway – just the little things that are different…

Hope everyone had a good weekend! We were going to take a day trip today, but we got up this morning and it was SOOO cold… it was like 30 degrees with 20 mph winds, so we decided to not make today a walking around outside day. Next weekend it’s going to be in the 50s, so I think we’re going to take a day trip sometime next week.

Nighty Night!

4 thoughts on “I rode a bike!

  1. Denise Behrman says:

    yeahhhh! so proud of you for learning to ride a bike again! Sounds like a fun weekend! I will have to try making those cookies, they look really yummy! Toby’s office will be so surprised when he brings the cookies to work!

    • Nikki Paulie says:

      Yeah! I was so proud of myself I rode IN THE STREET! Although, there really weren’t any cars on the street because it was Sunday, so I was a little more “brave’ than I would be if it was another day of the week. The cookies were really good! They were really fluffy like cake… the frosting on that recipe link would probably turn out better if I had found proper powdered sugar.

    • Nikki Paulie says:

      aww!! Ha ha, that’s so funny!! I was playing the video back to make sure it worked, and keeley couldn’t understand where the noise was coming from. She was really confused as to what was going on.

Leave a Reply

