I wanna go fast!


That’s right – I’m watching good ol’ Talledega Nights: The ballad of Ricky Bobby. I absolutely love that they are playing American movies here on a regular basis. It makes me feel like I still live in the United States. With the exception of the commercials (don’t forget my post where I posted my favorite – I’ll add more as I see them!), on at MINIMUM they are playing an american show or movie on two channels. During primetime, they often play “How I Met Your Mother”, “Big Bang Theory”, “Happy Endings”, “New Girl”, “Cougar Town”, “Pawn Stars”, “Friends”, “Scrubs”, “The Simpsons, etc”. There is always something on to watch, and I’m not missing out on my shows I love!

So, I’ve been working more on my job search and becoming an accredited therapist here. Since it’s not completely clear (even after speaking with people) which accrediting board I need to apply to, I’m applying to both the Psychological Society of Ireland (PSI), and the Irish Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy (IACP). I spoke with someone at the IACP yesterday about getting accredited through them. One of their requirements of the counselling programme here to get accredited is that the applicant does 100 counselling hours during internship (I did 750…), and it has to be a 2 year programme (mine was…), and the programme must require each person to complete 50 hours of personal therapy (which mine did not). 😦 So, I called up the woman who said to talk to in regards to getting accredited, she said that I don’t qualify because my master’s programme didn’t require personal counselling. Afterwards I thought, SURELY they can’t completely disqualify me for that, that would be ridiculous.

So, I called up a consultant listed on their website who helps people fill out their applications who have questions. I explained to him the programme I completed, and asked if I would become disqualified because of this personal counselling aspect. He said no, and even mentioned that I may be able to skip the “pre-accredited” part where they make you do supervision and wait 2 years from graduation to become accredited because my internship hours surpass the number of hours required to become pre-accredited and just plain accredited (which would be AWESOME!). Now, of course I’m still going to do supervision anyway, one because I need it, and two because I have to do it to maintain my NCC status in the United States. But – it would at least help me get jobs to say I’m accredited.

So – that made me happy! Also – Today, the weather was actually really nice. it was like 53 degrees, sunny, no wind… perfect! I almost didn’t need my jacket outside! Yesterday and today I was feeling pretty motivated… I’ve got a feeling good stuff is going to happen over this next week. 🙂

I also was getting sick of making the same food over and over again, so I tried this new recipe I found online: Lemon Chicken Pasta from Iowa Girl Eats blog. With the exception of the pasta, I made ALL the food from scratch, and it was all fresh. It was soooo good! You grill 2 chicken breasts (although I don’t have a grill, so I cooked it on the stove top), then add broccoli and spinach that you roast in the oven, and add it to pasta. Before I cooked the chicken, I marinated it in lemon juice (2 lemons worth), 1 tablespoon of oil, and a pinch of salt and pepper with oregano (the recipe called for thyme, but I didn’t have any so I just used Oregano). Then after it’s cooked, you just squeeze a little more lemon on it and add some salt and pepper… then PRESTO you are done! I’m telling ya, I’m loving eating fresh food. The broccoli was fresh, the lemons were fresh, the spinach was fresh… ah….

I’m making another recipe tomorrow, I’ll make sure to include photos. sorry I was kind of bad about no photos on this one…

Until then! Slàn!

Leave a Reply

