Tomorrow I go to fancy London Town…


Like the title says, I’m going to London tomorrow! My friend Amy and my old professor are there on a study abroad trip, so I am flying in for one of their more free days to hang out with them! I’m am quite excited about it!

Hopefully on Friday I can post some of the photos I take and what all we do.

I am however, not excited about this…

insane wind...

Ok – so I promise I’ll stop talking about the wind, but really? ANOTHER day of 60+ mph winds?! I’m getting sooo sick of this wind, it makes going outside sooo difficult!

I haven’t had a chance to do much the past few days, I had a really sore throat, and was feeling sick. I almost thought I had strep throat, but I’m starting to feel better today. Plus – it was so stupidly windy and crappy outside, I couldn’t have really gone out anyway.

Yesterday we went to the grocery store to get some medicine and try to find some chicken noodle soup, which I could not find. BUT, I did get some chicken and vegetable soup – it was almost like a cheesy chicken veggie soup, it was so good. Plus, Toby also made some chili last night – we had to alter the recipe a little bit because you can’t buy the canned tomatoes and chilies (Rotel) here like you can at home. So far, the things we’ve tried to buy that we realized don’t exist here are…

  • Chicken Noodle Soup
  • Canned Tomatoes and Chilies
  • Canned Pumpkin
  • Pumpkin anything…
  • fat free MICROWAVE popcorn
  • margarine spray
  • PAM (cooking spray)
  • Saltine Crackers

Also, their cucumbers look a lot different…

British and Irish Cucumbers

American Cucumbers

The cucumbers here are really long and skinny, and the cucumbers from home are shorter and fat.

Also here, hummus is called hoummous…. gyros are called kebabs (and they put french fries inside of them… YUM!!).

When you get food to go… you get it “take away”, and when you go out to eat, it is EXTREMELY uncommon for a restaurant to let you take your unfinished food home.

Also… a lot of the fruits and veggies here are much smaller… look how small our apples are…

tiny apple

I don’t know if it’s because they don’t put growth hormones and stuff into the fruit… but the pineapples, apples, etc are TINY. I’ve also fallen in love with this strawberry and banana smoothie juice by Del Rivo. What I love about it, and like 90% of the stuff you buy here… is it was just pureed juice. Nothing from concentrate, no preservatives… the food tastes sooo good and fresh. I have eaten more fruits and vegetables since I’ve been here than I have in a long time. Although I usually have groceries delivered, when I have small things to get, i still walk to the grocery store and carry everything back. There’s something about the way the stores are set up, and carrying your groceries back and seeing all the fresh fresh food that just gets you excited about cooking… Things aren’t so broken down and processed here. I may not be able to find the same things I was eating before… but it forces me to make things from scratch and I love it!!

Anyway – off to bed… I have to be on my bus to the airport tomorrow at 4:30 am!!

Night guys!

One thought on “Tomorrow I go to fancy London Town…

  1. Tiffany says:

    Awww yeah, I would have warned you about doggie bag- you’ll get realy strange looks if you try that. And I know wha you mean about processed foods- the lack of them is part of the reason I got so skinny. Btw- I want to set up a Skype time with you when you get back to Dublin!

Leave a Reply

