Happy St. Stephen’s Day – 2011


So – today is St. Stephen’s Day – woohoo!! Not really sure completely how they celebrate it here, but I’ll figure it out! I do know that today shops are open, it’s like their version of black friday – a lot of people go out and shop. I am not going out in those crowds though! Later tonight, Toby and Paul are going to the Leinster vs. Ulster Rugby game – so that Toby can experience his first Rugby game!

Anyway – Yesterday, we got up and watched our friend jump into the Irish Sea at Forty Foot in Dun Lagohaire. The video below is just someone’s video I found on YouTube of the people lined up jumping in.

There were a TON of people there, and there were 50 mile an hour SUSTAINED winds – the gusts were probably even stronger. I was sitting on top of a bunch of rocks taking photos. Here is a photo of Paul coming out of the water… you can tell from the audio how windy it was (sorry the video isn’t great). Luckily for Paul, it was at least 55 degrees that day, so it wasn’t super cold.

The boys lining up to jump in the Irish Sea

Paul coming out of the water

More People lining up for the swim

 While there, Toby also snapped some photos of the area. It’s called Dun Laoghaire – it’s a suburb of Dublin

Dun Laoghaire

Dun Laoghaire

We got back, and started cooking – or… I started cooking. The food turned out pretty great! While I was waiting for everything to finish off… I decided to sit for a bit of coffee in my Christmas Gear.

Later on, Paul showed up and started cooking his green bean casserole

Later on – it was time to feast 🙂

Mashed Potatoes, Green Bean Casserole, Gravy, Risotto, Applesauce

Turkey and Stuffing

I also made a sweet potato souffle, which isn’t in the photos above, but turned out quite well! The boys were excited to feast!

And now – our fridge is FULL of leftovers – yay my favorite!

After eating – Toby and Paul started playing modern warfare 3 on his Xbox – sorry Blake, he doesn’t have his xbox live subscription yet – but hopefully he’ll have it soon!

So – I think Christmas was definitely a success

On another note (I forgot to write about this the other day) – I was speaking with the Irish Psychological Association about working and everything. I discovered that I only need to become accredited if I work for a government funded agency. So, I can work for a non-profit without being accredited… which is strange, but I’m glad it’s working out that way.  AND – here, if you get a degree in just “counseling” you are a counselor, however, because my degree is in Counseling Psychology, I am considered a “Counseling Psychologist” here. Learning these terms has definitely helped me figure out my job searching. So, I’m going to go talk to a recruiter here hopefully in this next week and have them look over my resume and make sure it’s the European format. Then, I’m going to start my job search!! YAY! I can’t wait to start working again… It’s been 6 months since my internship ended, and it’s been 1 year since I’ve been paid to work – so I’m ready to get back in there and start working!!

Anyway – I hope everyone else had a great Christmas! Toby and I missed seeing everyone, but you were all in our thoughts.

Athbhliain faoi mhaise daoibh!

(Happy New Year – in Irish)

Leave a Reply

