Day 5: Veteran’s Day!


  Happy Veteran’s/Remembrance Day everyone! I just want to say a quick thank you to our good friend Jeremy who is currently serving in Afghanistan with the Marines… we’re thinking of you buddy!

Dave and Jeremy at our wedding

I also want to take another minute to thank my grandma for fighting in the Korean War

My Grandfather in Korea

And lastly – A thank you to Toby’s Dad – Len – who was in the Marine’s as well (sorry Len – I didn’t have a photo of you in uniform, so I put the photo of you with Jeremy’s hat on instead! 🙂 )

Len (Toby's Dad), Dave, and Toby

Anyway, I was lucky enough to get to go to today’s Veteran’s Day Parade here in New York City. I’ve Listed some of the photos below. I included a link to the full set of photos (there were too many to post them all). Just a warning… there was a woman standing in the crowd topless across the street from me… so she ended up in the background of some of my photos. I don’t know why, but the cops walked past her and said nothing, just let her stand there topless throughout the entire parade… ha ha. I realized after the parade, one of the guys I saw was Herman Cain, but I didn’t get his picture… Oh well! ha ha. Supposedly Vice-President Joe Biden was there as well, but I didn’t see him.. although I’m pretty sure I saw a few secret service guys.

CLICK HERE FOR FULL ALBUM OF THE PARADE 

The guy holding the flag is Mayor Michael Bloomberg

World Trade Center Volunteers

This cute little girl was saluting the crowd

The NYC Firefighters - Notice the Irish Flag? 🙂

FDNY Bagpipes

Old Firetruck with Vets riding in the back

Fire Dept of NYC - EMS

After the parade, I met up with Toby, and went and ate pizza at Bella Napoli, which was down the street from Time’s Square. The pizza was pretty good! When I left the restaurant, I had my first encounter with the subway. It was pretty easy to figure out, and quick! The only thing I did, was when I walked out of the subway station, I accidentally turned the wrong direction… but I just turned around and walked back the direction I needed to go.

Anyway – off to finish packing for our bus ride to Maryland to visit Blake and Alex. Will most more photos tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Day 5: Veteran’s Day!

Leave a Reply

