The job search continues…


So, today was pretty good. Finally got a call back from from a local recruiter, CPL Jobs. He said that here in Ireland, you have to be SO much more aggressive when it comes to job searching. He said, and I quote, “Ya know, Irish people here, they can’t be bothered to pick up a damn phone and call people back about job listings. Ya litterally have to hold their hands through the process. Ya turn in your CV, then you say to them – I’m going to call you at 3pm this afternoon to see if you have any questions about my CV. Then you call them over and over and over.” I just though it was hilarious, here is this guy who works for an Irish recruitment agency, and he’s calling his own people lazy. AGAIN – I am not saying they are, I’m just repeating what someone else said. Apparently, it’s also a big deal to use Linked-in here in your job search. He also suggested just walking into counselling centres and turning my CV into people here. So, I dropped my CV off at two local agenices – neither of which is hiring… yet… ? … I hope…

However – I promised another recipe today – so another recipe I deliver! Again – this comes from Iowa Girl Eats blog. Tonight for dinner I had chicken bruchetta with sweet potato fries. To make the Chicken Bruchetta I combined…

  1. 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  2. 1 tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar
  3. 1/4 chopped red onion
  4. 3 medium vine-ripened tomatoes chopped
  5. 2 tablespoon of fresh basil leaves (I didn’t have fresh basil, so I just used dried basil)

You put it all in a medium sized bowl, and let it all marinate for AT LEAST 10 minutes – I let mine marinate for about an hour, just because my chicken wasn’t defrosted yet. What you do is cook your chicken breast anyway you like (I baked mine at 375 degrees Farenheit for 30 minutes. Once the chicken was done, you add 3 ounces of mozzerella to the mixture that was marinating, and then set it on the chicken as a topping.

As for the sweet potatoes, I skinned them and cut them into fry shaped forms. Which, by the way, is REALLY hard! Sweet potatoes are really hard and difficult to cut – but I made it through, ha ha. Then I coated them in a bit of olive oil and salt and pepper. I threw them in the oven with the chicken for 15 minutes, then flipped, and cooked 10 minutes longer. I will say the recipe I used (granted, the oven was a little cooler than the recipe called for) did not make crunch sweet potato fries. They ended up being pretty soggy. I think next time I’m going to try this recipe: CLICK HERE. I also think that next time I need to put fewer sweet “fry pieces” on the oven sheet at a time. So we’ll see how that goes next time. Anyway, here’s the finished product…

Anyway, I’ll keep everyone updated on the job search. Not much else going on with us… I have a girls night friday, sunday is Toby’s birthday, and on sunday we’re going to a NFL watch party for the playoffs at a place called the Woolshed. I guess they play a bunch of American sports on TV. Everyone else have a good hump day!

One thought on “The job search continues…

Leave a Reply

